My Daily Devotional


Wealth Cannot Buy Happiness

“He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the hearts of men; yet they cannot fathom what God has done from beginning to end.”
Ecclesiastes 3:11

When I read this scripture I am reminded of the story of Howard Hughes, the richest man in the world at the time of his death. He had the wealth to have anything he would ever want, but died alone in a meager hotel type room, having shunned any encounter with anyone for 20 years before his death. He was a man of significance in the eyes of man; he had money, material possessions fame and a status in life that excelled all others. It appears that God had given him everything of a material nature in life except happiness and peace within himself, but this is what we remember of him; this is his legacy. God sets eternity in the hearts of men as stated above, which many people interpret as man’s ultimate desire is for immortality. With this in mind Mr. Hughes was probably one person if he could have bought immortality would have done it as he had the wealth. Our wealth however does not buy us immortality as we will all die someday. Only when we ask God into our heart, will we be given the chance to spend all eternity with him. God gives all of us this opportunity, but we cannot buy this with our endowments, our names published in Who’s Who, or our foundations which we set up on earth. So often people spend their time, talents and energy on things to satisfy themselves rather than serving others. God’s two greatest commandments tell us what our life should be focused on. Matthew 22:37-40 “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: Love your neighbor as yourself. All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.” When we ask Jesus into our hearts, and begin to obey God, and do the things that he commands us to do, we have his promise that we will spend our eternity with him. We get so caught up with the things of life, trying to accumulate wealth and be successful, that many times we forget that there is more to life than our bank accounts, our houses and our automobiles. These things are gifts from God, but in no way determines how successful we are in our lives. Our kind deeds, our thoughts, our actions and conduct are things that God will look at when we stand before him on judgment day. Our material possessions that we leave behind will not impress God as they will rust and rot away, nor will the titles before our names. These will not get us past the gate where we will live eternally on streets that are made of gold. Only our salvation will allow us to enter Heaven. If you do not know God as your Lord and Savior, today could be the day you can correct this and ask Jesus into your heart. You are not promised tomorrow and today could be your final chance to secure where you will spend your eternity. Nothing is more important. Take a few moments to ask Jesus for His gift of salvation now, before it is too late.

Pastor Robert William Brock My Daily Devotional Volume Four
August 25

About robertwbrock

Robert William Brock, Jr. I was born in Pineville, Kentucky, the son of Robert William Brock and Irene Napier, I grew up in the beautiful southeastern part of Kentucky. I attended Union College in Barbourville, Kentucky graduating with a degree in Business Administration and Accounting. Early in my career I became interested in Health Care Administration and spent the rest of my career in Hospital Administration, where I retired after 45 years. After retiring from health care I have devoted the past ten years to a ministry, having founded and directed the Nehemiah Network, which provides assistance to the needy people in our area, by bringing together the numerous community organizations, churches and businesses to work collectively to meet the community needs. The Nehemiah Network concept has now spread throughout the nation and over 10,000 programs have been developed, in almost all the states, adopting the framework of the Network. I am a published author of 17 Christian books, and have spent over thirty years tracing my ancestors and writing a book about my Kentucky Heritage. My books are listed below: “Our Kentucky Heritage” “My Daily Devotional” "My Daily Devotional Volume II" "My Daily Devotional Volume III" "My Daily Devotional Volume IV" "My Daily Devotional Volume Six" "My Daily Devotional Volume Seven" "God’s Plan for the Family” " God’s Plan for a Father” "God's Plan for a Joy Filled Life" "The Silent Church" "God's Plan For Financial Freedom" "Living Without Sin" "My Kentucky Heritage" "Brock Family Cookbook" All of my books can be ordered at Amazon.com by typing in my name Robert William Brock, Jr. As part of my ministry I write a free daily devotional which is distributed on a daily basis to over 2 million people daily via e-mail. I live with my wife Margaret of 45 years in East Liverpool, where we have resided for over 33 years. We have three children and six grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

