My Daily Devotional


Role of the Wife

“Wives, submit to your husbands as to the Lord. For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Savior. Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit to their husbands in everything.”
Ephesians 5:22-24

When God created Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden he created a perfect arrangement, which was without sin. However Satan intervened and caused Adam and Eve to eat of the forbidden fruit, and thus brought sin into the world. God created man in his own image and gave him a helpmate to rule over everything in the world. The wife has an important role in the family structure and according to God is the weaker vessel. The weaker vessel according to the scriptures meant that the wife was valuable as gold and silver as many of the valuables of the Biblical days were fragile and therefore very valuable. They were to be treasured and therefore called weaker vessels. In the scripture above the apostle Paul shows how, the wife can have a conciliatory attitude by being submissive that will help the relationship with her husband. The term submit does not put a woman’s husband in the place of the Lord, but shows rather that a woman ought to submit to her husband as an act of submission to the Lord. Throughout the Bible we see that God wants the man to be in charge of his family and to manage his family well. The man is to be the provider and the protector of the family, but he must depend upon his wife for support and help in raising their children. I have always felt the following scripture is the real meaning of the reason why a wife was to be submissive to her husband. 1st Peter 3:1-2 “Wives, in the same way be submissive to your husbands so that, if any of them do not believe the word, they may be won over without words by the behavior of their wives, when they see the purity and reverence of your lives.” I have witnessed over the years so many wives that have brought their husbands to the Lord through their behavior. Many times it is the wife that is the one that keeps God at the forefront of the family’s daily lives, and through their devotion to God and their actions and behavior brings the husband and the children to the Lord. Wives can change their husbands, and bring them to God. The power of a wife in this regard is tremendous, and through their consistent behavior over time can bring a man to want to worship the Lord as his wife does. Her actions can win him over as he will see the purity and reverence of his wife. There is nothing more powerful than the love between a husband and wife, and I believe God intended the wife to be submissive for this reason.

Pastor Robert William Brock My Daily Devotional Volume One
September 27

About robertwbrock

Robert William Brock, Jr. I was born in Pineville, Kentucky, the son of Robert William Brock and Irene Napier, I grew up in the beautiful southeastern part of Kentucky. I attended Union College in Barbourville, Kentucky graduating with a degree in Business Administration and Accounting. Early in my career I became interested in Health Care Administration and spent the rest of my career in Hospital Administration, where I retired after 45 years. After retiring from health care I have devoted the past ten years to a ministry, having founded and directed the Nehemiah Network, which provides assistance to the needy people in our area, by bringing together the numerous community organizations, churches and businesses to work collectively to meet the community needs. The Nehemiah Network concept has now spread throughout the nation and over 10,000 programs have been developed, in almost all the states, adopting the framework of the Network. I am a published author of 17 Christian books, and have spent over thirty years tracing my ancestors and writing a book about my Kentucky Heritage. My books are listed below: “Our Kentucky Heritage” “My Daily Devotional” "My Daily Devotional Volume II" "My Daily Devotional Volume III" "My Daily Devotional Volume IV" "My Daily Devotional Volume Six" "My Daily Devotional Volume Seven" "God’s Plan for the Family” " God’s Plan for a Father” "God's Plan for a Joy Filled Life" "The Silent Church" "God's Plan For Financial Freedom" "Living Without Sin" "My Kentucky Heritage" "Brock Family Cookbook" All of my books can be ordered at Amazon.com by typing in my name Robert William Brock, Jr. As part of my ministry I write a free daily devotional which is distributed on a daily basis to over 2 million people daily via e-mail. I live with my wife Margaret of 45 years in East Liverpool, where we have resided for over 33 years. We have three children and six grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

