My Daily Devotional


Make God First In Your Family

“The righteous man leads a blameless life; blessed are his children after him.”
Proverbs 20:7

I have thought about this scripture for the past ten years, and think about my great grandfather who was a Methodist minister in our hometown of Pineville, Kentucky. He had been a minister and schoolteacher for over 50 years and was one of the most well known men in our small community. I have researched this family for many years and discovered that they came to the United States in the early 1500’s. During my research I discovered that his father was also a Methodist minister, and also his father’s father. There were eight generations straight where one of the children had become a Methodist minister and had followed in his father’s footsteps. This demonstrates so well this scripture above as does many other scriptures that tell us the same message. When parents teach their children in the way of the Lord their children and their children’s children are blessed. Psalm 78:5-6 “He decreed statutes for Jacob and established the law in Israel, which he commanded our forefathers to teach their children, so the next generation would know them, even the children yet to be born, and they in turn would tell their children.” Parents have a big responsibility to teach our children about God and to obey his commandments. When we do our jobs, our children are going to follow in their parents footsteps, as my great grandfather did. This is the kind of example all families should establish for their children. I also discovered that during these eight generations there were no divorces in any of the children’s families during this time. This demonstrates what can happen to a family where God is at the center of the family, and the children are brought up in a home where God is worshipped and honored. There are so many children being brought up in homes where God is not present, and where they are not taught good Christian values. This is why there is so many broken homes in our society. The parents have abandoned God in their homes, and their children do not have a foundation on which to build their lives. When we build our homes on the principles that God teaches us, our homes are build on a solid foundation, and one that will pass on to our future generations. God blesses the home where he is present and will bless our children and our grandchildren. I know this has been true in my own family, as all my children are serving the Lord in their homes and my grandchildren are living their lives for God. There is not a greater gift we can give to our children, than to live our lives for God. They will see the peace and joy God is giving us and will also want this for their lives as well.

Pastor Robert William Brock My Daily Devotional Volume Two
October 8

About robertwbrock

Robert William Brock, Jr. I was born in Pineville, Kentucky, the son of Robert William Brock and Irene Napier, I grew up in the beautiful southeastern part of Kentucky. I attended Union College in Barbourville, Kentucky graduating with a degree in Business Administration and Accounting. Early in my career I became interested in Health Care Administration and spent the rest of my career in Hospital Administration, where I retired after 45 years. After retiring from health care I have devoted the past ten years to a ministry, having founded and directed the Nehemiah Network, which provides assistance to the needy people in our area, by bringing together the numerous community organizations, churches and businesses to work collectively to meet the community needs. The Nehemiah Network concept has now spread throughout the nation and over 10,000 programs have been developed, in almost all the states, adopting the framework of the Network. I am a published author of 17 Christian books, and have spent over thirty years tracing my ancestors and writing a book about my Kentucky Heritage. My books are listed below: “Our Kentucky Heritage” “My Daily Devotional” "My Daily Devotional Volume II" "My Daily Devotional Volume III" "My Daily Devotional Volume IV" "My Daily Devotional Volume Six" "My Daily Devotional Volume Seven" "God’s Plan for the Family” " God’s Plan for a Father” "God's Plan for a Joy Filled Life" "The Silent Church" "God's Plan For Financial Freedom" "Living Without Sin" "My Kentucky Heritage" "Brock Family Cookbook" All of my books can be ordered at Amazon.com by typing in my name Robert William Brock, Jr. As part of my ministry I write a free daily devotional which is distributed on a daily basis to over 2 million people daily via e-mail. I live with my wife Margaret of 45 years in East Liverpool, where we have resided for over 33 years. We have three children and six grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

