My Daily Devotional


Let God Refine You

“That the trial of your faith, being much more precious than of gold that perisheth, though it be tried with fire, might be found unto praise and honour and glory at the appearing of Jesus Christ”
1 Peter 1:7

So often in life when we are faced with troubles and trials we wonder if God is really listening to us. Sometimes when we are in the midst of trials we start to wonder – Lord, will it ever end? In case you haven’t noticed, it doesn’t. But the good news is that with each faith-testing experience, our ability to deal with these trials and tribulations becomes better, and our faith grows stronger! In the scripture above, God compares our faith to a most precious and beautiful metal – gold. But when mined, this precious metal doesn’t look very precious! It’s dirty looking and black. How does gold become beautiful? A refiner takes the gold and carefully melts it in a melting pot – slowly raising the temperature – but never to the point where it boils. As it melts, slowly the impurities rise to the surface, and is then scooped away. What is left is a beautiful pot of gold, ready to become your next ring or bracelet. Here’s the amazing part. The refiner knows his job is done when he can look into the melting pot and see a reflection of himself. The only way gold will become more precious is when it’s placed on the fire! In the same way, the impurities of our lives must be exposed to the fire so that the Lord can scoop up the filth that shows itself when we accept Jesus as our savior, and then accept His precious gift of salvation. God removes all the impurities of our life, and frees us from our sins and forgets about them. And then, when it’s all said and done, He can look upon us and see the beauty of His reflection, and we are pure as Gold in His sight.

Pastor Robert William Brock My Daily Devotional Volume Six
December 26

About robertwbrock

Robert William Brock, Jr. I was born in Pineville, Kentucky, the son of Robert William Brock and Irene Napier, I grew up in the beautiful southeastern part of Kentucky. I attended Union College in Barbourville, Kentucky graduating with a degree in Business Administration and Accounting. Early in my career I became interested in Health Care Administration and spent the rest of my career in Hospital Administration, where I retired after 45 years. After retiring from health care I have devoted the past ten years to a ministry, having founded and directed the Nehemiah Network, which provides assistance to the needy people in our area, by bringing together the numerous community organizations, churches and businesses to work collectively to meet the community needs. The Nehemiah Network concept has now spread throughout the nation and over 10,000 programs have been developed, in almost all the states, adopting the framework of the Network. I am a published author of 17 Christian books, and have spent over thirty years tracing my ancestors and writing a book about my Kentucky Heritage. My books are listed below: “Our Kentucky Heritage” “My Daily Devotional” "My Daily Devotional Volume II" "My Daily Devotional Volume III" "My Daily Devotional Volume IV" "My Daily Devotional Volume Six" "My Daily Devotional Volume Seven" "God’s Plan for the Family” " God’s Plan for a Father” "God's Plan for a Joy Filled Life" "The Silent Church" "God's Plan For Financial Freedom" "Living Without Sin" "My Kentucky Heritage" "Brock Family Cookbook" All of my books can be ordered at Amazon.com by typing in my name Robert William Brock, Jr. As part of my ministry I write a free daily devotional which is distributed on a daily basis to over 2 million people daily via e-mail. I live with my wife Margaret of 45 years in East Liverpool, where we have resided for over 33 years. We have three children and six grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

