My Daily Devotional


A Passion For God

“Help, Lord, for the godly are no more; the faithful have vanished from among men.”
Psalm 12:1

The above scripture was a psalm written by David when he was down and depressed, and his attitude was negative about what he saw from his people and their actions. We can see this same attitude prevalent in today’s society as it appears that so many people have abandoned God, and are going their own ways without regard to obeying God and his commands. Our televisions, our music, our newspapers and all forms of our media depict what is happening in our world. God is being taken out of our schools, our government, our justice system and even any mention of God in a public forum is being questioned by someone. One of the most important holidays of the year, Christmas, is now glorified by not worshipping the birth of Jesus, as our public displays about his nativity are being questioned in our society, and being replaced with a holiday spirit that has no mention of Jesus. God must be so disappointed with what is happening in our society today as our thoughts have turned from him to our own materialistic ways. Just recently our pastor talked about the church and getting our passion back for God in the manner our forefathers had during the time our great nation was founded. The first congress spent the first part of every session they were together in prayer, and all their decisions were based upon God and his teachings. God has been good to our nation as it is the most prosperous nation in the world, as he has blessed us because of our faith in him and our faithfulness. I believe this is changing however as we are turning from God as a nation, and God’s favor upon us is going to cause us to suffer. We can look at the history of the people of Israel and see the times when they prospered. These were the times when they followed God’s commands and were faithful to his teachings. God would bless them and their land and let them live in peace, and would let them prosper in everything they did. However when they began to wander away from God and his teachings and did not obey his commands they were punished, defeated and were plundered and humiliated by their enemies. As Christians we must have a passion for God and make him number one in our lives. We must get our minds off ourselves and on God and make it our number one goal to do his will. Our daily lives must center around God and obeying his commands and doing what is right. God wants us to prosper in everything we do, but our passion for him must be our number one thought and focus during our day. Spend time with God each day and allow him to direct your life, and fulfill his plan for you and get your passion back.

Pastor Robert William Brock My Daily Devotional Volume Two
January 2

About robertwbrock

Robert William Brock, Jr. I was born in Pineville, Kentucky, the son of Robert William Brock and Irene Napier, I grew up in the beautiful southeastern part of Kentucky. I attended Union College in Barbourville, Kentucky graduating with a degree in Business Administration and Accounting. Early in my career I became interested in Health Care Administration and spent the rest of my career in Hospital Administration, where I retired after 45 years. After retiring from health care I have devoted the past ten years to a ministry, having founded and directed the Nehemiah Network, which provides assistance to the needy people in our area, by bringing together the numerous community organizations, churches and businesses to work collectively to meet the community needs. The Nehemiah Network concept has now spread throughout the nation and over 10,000 programs have been developed, in almost all the states, adopting the framework of the Network. I am a published author of 17 Christian books, and have spent over thirty years tracing my ancestors and writing a book about my Kentucky Heritage. My books are listed below: “Our Kentucky Heritage” “My Daily Devotional” "My Daily Devotional Volume II" "My Daily Devotional Volume III" "My Daily Devotional Volume IV" "My Daily Devotional Volume Six" "My Daily Devotional Volume Seven" "God’s Plan for the Family” " God’s Plan for a Father” "God's Plan for a Joy Filled Life" "The Silent Church" "God's Plan For Financial Freedom" "Living Without Sin" "My Kentucky Heritage" "Brock Family Cookbook" All of my books can be ordered at Amazon.com by typing in my name Robert William Brock, Jr. As part of my ministry I write a free daily devotional which is distributed on a daily basis to over 2 million people daily via e-mail. I live with my wife Margaret of 45 years in East Liverpool, where we have resided for over 33 years. We have three children and six grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

