My Daily Devotional


Giving From The Heart

“The generous soul will be made rich, and he who waters will also be watered himself.”
Proverbs 11:25

In my book “God’s Plan for a Joy Filled Life” I devoted a chapter entirely to the importance of giving back a portion of what God has given us. We are to give our tithes and offerings but we must also give of ourselves. We all have grown up with the saying that “It is more blessed to give than receive.” There is probably not any more truer words than these to follow each and every day of our lives, and if each of us could follow this example we would be overflowing with blessings from God. God set the standard for the ultimate gift when he gave his son Jesus to come to earth and die on the cross for our sins. This was the ultimate gift that could be given to anyone. The majority of the Bible is based on the philosophy of giving. Christ commanded us to give, and give freely. To give freely is an invitation to a glorious and abundant life. If a person gets his attitude toward money right, it will help straighten out almost every other area of his life. Do you realize just how much we are a slave to our money? Some people spend their entire lives serving their money, often without even realizing it. Matthew 6:24 “You cannot serve both God and Money.” The chief motive of the selfish person is “Get.”, while the chief motive of the dedicated Christian should be “Give”. Jesus said to “Give, and it will be given to you”. The Bible also teaches us that blessings follow those who give liberally. I have heard numerous people state over the years that they were always afraid to put to the test God’s promise to bless those who are generous. They feared they would not have enough to sustain themselves. Then when they decided to tithe (to give a tenth of their income) in accordance with the Bible’s standard, they began to prosper. They discovered what countless others have known for years, and that is that you cannot out give God. There are many things that keep people from giving as they should, selfishness, fear, and insecurity and in many instances a sinful habit they would rather support instead of giving. Our society has taught us to look out for number one and what’s in it for me. Most people are living only for themselves, and are not interested in other people. They don’t have time to help others in need, and focus only on what they want, what they need and what they feel will benefit themselves. No matter what they acquire for themselves, they are never satisfied. If we are ever going to experience a new level of joy in our life and want God to begin to shower us with his blessings and favor, we must get our minds off ourselves. We must learn to be a giver instead of a taker.

Pastor Robert William Brock My Daily Devotional Volume Two
March 6

Read today’s daily devotional here, then Click on the link and read the other 365 devotionals here free. http://tinyurl.com/h5p2mhb

About robertwbrock

Robert William Brock, Jr. I was born in Pineville, Kentucky, the son of Robert William Brock and Irene Napier, I grew up in the beautiful southeastern part of Kentucky. I attended Union College in Barbourville, Kentucky graduating with a degree in Business Administration and Accounting. Early in my career I became interested in Health Care Administration and spent the rest of my career in Hospital Administration, where I retired after 45 years. After retiring from health care I have devoted the past ten years to a ministry, having founded and directed the Nehemiah Network, which provides assistance to the needy people in our area, by bringing together the numerous community organizations, churches and businesses to work collectively to meet the community needs. The Nehemiah Network concept has now spread throughout the nation and over 10,000 programs have been developed, in almost all the states, adopting the framework of the Network. I am a published author of 17 Christian books, and have spent over thirty years tracing my ancestors and writing a book about my Kentucky Heritage. My books are listed below: “Our Kentucky Heritage” “My Daily Devotional” "My Daily Devotional Volume II" "My Daily Devotional Volume III" "My Daily Devotional Volume IV" "My Daily Devotional Volume Six" "My Daily Devotional Volume Seven" "God’s Plan for the Family” " God’s Plan for a Father” "God's Plan for a Joy Filled Life" "The Silent Church" "God's Plan For Financial Freedom" "Living Without Sin" "My Kentucky Heritage" "Brock Family Cookbook" All of my books can be ordered at Amazon.com by typing in my name Robert William Brock, Jr. As part of my ministry I write a free daily devotional which is distributed on a daily basis to over 2 million people daily via e-mail. I live with my wife Margaret of 45 years in East Liverpool, where we have resided for over 33 years. We have three children and six grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment