My Daily Devotional


Battling Discouragement

“A man’s spirit sustains him in sickness, but a crushed spirit who can bear?
Proverbs 18:14

So often in life we become discouraged, as the pressures of everyday living leaves us with the feeling that everything is against us. We become easily hurt and offended. We become suspicious of others, and have a fear of failure. We begin to withdraw from others, and even begin to withdraw from God. We can begin to lose our confidence in ourselves and our own abilities, which causes us to want to back away, as we don’t want to be rejected. A good example of this can be seen in the life of Moses, who had a confidence problem, and a creditability problem as to his ability to communicate effectively, and also felt inadequate to lead others, but God provided him with the power to overcome these deficiencies, and provided him with a helper, Aaron, who was able to help him. When God calls us to do His will, we need to be able to step out, and sometimes get outside our comfort zones to fulfill His plan for us. God wants to use us regardless of our past, and what we think may handicap us from making His plans come true for our lives. When God calls us, our focus should be on doing His will, not thinking about our limitations, as God will enable us to overcome our limitations, and empower us with whatever we need to fulfill His mission. When we go out in faith and trust in God to do His work, He will provide us with the power, strength and energy to complete His mission. God will open the doors for us in all our endeavors, when we venture out to do His will. Don’t let discouragement get you down, but trust in God to provide you with the strength to overcome. Proverbs 19:21 “Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.” If this describes how you feel, read your Bible daily and pray asking God to lead you and guide you in fulfilling the plan He has for you. You may battle discouragement but God will give you strength and victory.

August 12
My Daily Devotional Volume Nine
Pastor Robert William Brock, Jr.

This is my newly published My Daily Devotional Volume Nine. Click on the link to read all 365 devotionals for free. http://tinyurl.com/mvta3r5

Click on the following link to take you to my Pastor page where you can read all my books for free. https://www.facebook.com/Robert-W-Brock-Pastor-16556518313…/

About robertwbrock

Robert William Brock, Jr. I was born in Pineville, Kentucky, the son of Robert William Brock and Irene Napier, I grew up in the beautiful southeastern part of Kentucky. I attended Union College in Barbourville, Kentucky graduating with a degree in Business Administration and Accounting. Early in my career I became interested in Health Care Administration and spent the rest of my career in Hospital Administration, where I retired after 45 years. After retiring from health care I have devoted the past ten years to a ministry, having founded and directed the Nehemiah Network, which provides assistance to the needy people in our area, by bringing together the numerous community organizations, churches and businesses to work collectively to meet the community needs. The Nehemiah Network concept has now spread throughout the nation and over 10,000 programs have been developed, in almost all the states, adopting the framework of the Network. I am a published author of 17 Christian books, and have spent over thirty years tracing my ancestors and writing a book about my Kentucky Heritage. My books are listed below: “Our Kentucky Heritage” “My Daily Devotional” "My Daily Devotional Volume II" "My Daily Devotional Volume III" "My Daily Devotional Volume IV" "My Daily Devotional Volume Six" "My Daily Devotional Volume Seven" "God’s Plan for the Family” " God’s Plan for a Father” "God's Plan for a Joy Filled Life" "The Silent Church" "God's Plan For Financial Freedom" "Living Without Sin" "My Kentucky Heritage" "Brock Family Cookbook" All of my books can be ordered at Amazon.com by typing in my name Robert William Brock, Jr. As part of my ministry I write a free daily devotional which is distributed on a daily basis to over 2 million people daily via e-mail. I live with my wife Margaret of 45 years in East Liverpool, where we have resided for over 33 years. We have three children and six grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

