My Daily Devotional


Our Prayer Life

“The Lord has heard my cry for mercy; the Lord accepts my prayer.”
Psalm 6:9

David was continually going to the Lord and praying to him. When he was in trouble he went to God and asked him for strength, and when he was happy he went to God thanking him for the blessings God was bestowing upon him. I believe David was the ultimate prayer warrior, as throughout the Psalms David was either asking God to help him or thanking him. Our prayer life should always be one of thanking God for all the things he has given us. It should be a time when we also talk to him about the things that are troubling us. Our prayer time should be the time that we ask God to bless others around us. Over 20 years ago I began a ministry of e-mailing a daily devotional beginning with just my immediate family members. This ministry has now grown to the point that presently I am sending out my daily devotionals to over 3 million people on a daily basis. A day hardly passes where someone does not send me a request for prayer for someone in their family who is sick, or has had an accident, lost their jobs, or for some other reason. These are usually requests from people who are having difficult times in their lives and are asking for any help they can get. After having received these kinds of requests for the past years, I have noticed that very rarely do I receive an e-mail about the good things that are happening to these same people. All of the prayer request are from people who only ask for prayer when they are having problems and difficulties in their lives. God tells us throughout the Bible that we are to pray on all occasions, not just in our time of trouble. Ephesians 6:18 “And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests.” I believe God hears our prayers when we earnestly talk to him. I know that since God has been walking with me these past years I can feel him directing and giving me wisdom in my daily life. Prayer is so important in our daily lives if we want to have God lead and direct our paths. If we want to reach out to others in any kind of ministry prayer is one of the first things we need to have in our thoughts. I believe prayer is one of the best ways to please God, and being faithful in our prayer life is essential. It is through prayer that we can develop a relationship with God. This is the way we can fellowship with him. Prayer keeps us on the straight and narrow path, and will keep us from temptation. Prayer can keep us from always thinking about ourselves and will get us used to thinking about others as we pray for them. Our prayer life will keep us humble, as the more we pray, the more we will realize that God is in control.

Pastor Robert William Brock, Jr.

April 18

About robertwbrock

Robert William Brock, Jr. I was born in Pineville, Kentucky, the son of Robert William Brock and Irene Napier, I grew up in the beautiful southeastern part of Kentucky. I attended Union College in Barbourville, Kentucky graduating with a degree in Business Administration and Accounting. Early in my career I became interested in Health Care Administration and spent the rest of my career in Hospital Administration, where I retired after 45 years. After retiring from health care I have devoted the past ten years to a ministry, having founded and directed the Nehemiah Network, which provides assistance to the needy people in our area, by bringing together the numerous community organizations, churches and businesses to work collectively to meet the community needs. The Nehemiah Network concept has now spread throughout the nation and over 10,000 programs have been developed, in almost all the states, adopting the framework of the Network. I am a published author of 17 Christian books, and have spent over thirty years tracing my ancestors and writing a book about my Kentucky Heritage. My books are listed below: “Our Kentucky Heritage” “My Daily Devotional” "My Daily Devotional Volume II" "My Daily Devotional Volume III" "My Daily Devotional Volume IV" "My Daily Devotional Volume Six" "My Daily Devotional Volume Seven" "God’s Plan for the Family” " God’s Plan for a Father” "God's Plan for a Joy Filled Life" "The Silent Church" "God's Plan For Financial Freedom" "Living Without Sin" "My Kentucky Heritage" "Brock Family Cookbook" All of my books can be ordered at Amazon.com by typing in my name Robert William Brock, Jr. As part of my ministry I write a free daily devotional which is distributed on a daily basis to over 2 million people daily via e-mail. I live with my wife Margaret of 45 years in East Liverpool, where we have resided for over 33 years. We have three children and six grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment